Back to explore more theories

Bloom’s Taxonomy of Learning

What should I know about Bloom’s taxonomy of learning?

Bloom’s taxonomy of learning states that there are 3 educational domains: cognitive, which relates to knowledge; psychomotor, which relates to the ability to do something; and affective, which relates to attitude.1 Within each domain, there is a hierarchical order of ability.1

Pages from TT-Writing-Learning-Outcomes

How does Bloom’s taxonomy of learning show up in our work?

We use Bloom’s taxonomy to help us plan our training curricula. It guides us as we identify training objectives, outcomes, activities, and assessments.

Where can I learn more about Bloom’s taxonomy of learning?

Click here or watch the video below to learn more.

Works Cited and Works Consulted

  1. Carleton University Educational Development Centre. Writing learning outcomes. Accessed July 2, 2016.
  2. Armstrong P. Bloom’s taxonomy. Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching website. Accessed July 1, 2016.
  3. Bloom’s taxonomy and course design [video]. Ottawa, ON: Carleton University Educational Development Centre; July 14, 2014. Accessed July 1, 2016.
  4. Randall VR. Learning domains or Bloom’s taxonomy. The University of Dayton School of Law website. Updated December 5, 2010. Accessed July 1, 2016.